Thursday, March 13, 2008

Joost Live

Joost is launching Joost LIVE! They hope to have all the testing done and launch for March Madness.

It's all about LIVE. Yahoo and Google YouTube are getting into the space in a big way as well. Look for other major entrants into the space.

I saw a short segment interview with Mike Volpi and he talked about live events and using the existing Joost platform. How he wants to get a few bands/musicians to perform. As you know many of the folks at Joost came from MTV, so they have lots of connections.

Help Joost Test LIVE
We're beginning a new experiment to bring Joost's P2P video streaming live - we've done some internal and semi-private tests so far, but in order to offer a stable live service in the future, we need your help.
Our first public test will be today, Thursday, March 13, at 2 p.m. EDT, 6 p.m. GMT.
Want to try this new technology? Here's what you need to do.
1. Go to and download the newest version of Joost. Install it.
2. At 2 p.m. EDT (11 a.m. PDT, 6 p.m. GMT, 7 p.m. CET), start Joost, and go to the Joost LIVE Test category. Launch the Leiden LIVE P2P channel.
3. Start watching. (If you want, go to My Joost -> Channel Chat to see who else is watching with you.)
Curious about what you'll be watching?
It'll be a bunch of behind-the-scenes interviews with some of the people who are making the Joost LIVE Test possible.
We expect (and kind of hope) things will go wrong ... but that's the only way we'll find out where the problems are. When you're testing any new technology, especially one as complex as live P2P streaming, you expect a number of failures, but in order to get a product or service that works seamlessly, you have to break it first in order to find all the bugs and troubleshoot effectively.
This is phase 1 of our test: next week, we'll begin the Joost LIVE Test with March Madness (but we'd really like you to come to this test first). Sign up now to receive game day alerts!
Thanks for helping us with the Joost LIVE Test!

No comments: